An Open Letter to…Edgar Wright

The highly anticipated 3rd installment of the famed Cornetto Trilogy is here, The World’s End, and to celebrate I have written a letter of adoration to none other than Edgar Wright.

image

Dear Edgar Wright,

You are one amazing genius englishman. This letter could be entirely summed up into one phrase, PURE CINEMATIC BRILLIANCE. How do you do it? How is it that you manage to recreate a one of a kind film experience time and time again all whilst containing an insane amount of British humor that us confused Americans STILL find hilarious? HOW???? I just love you so much Edgar, I do. I remember when Scott Pilgrim vs. The World came out, I knew absolutely nothing about it and assumed it was gonna be real stupid. It looked like a stupid movie about non-existent stupid video games and lots of other stupid stuff (don’t worry, I soon found out how incredibly ignorant and wrong and STUPID I was). My best pal Sheldon was all giddy and pumped about it and I just kept thinking, “What a dum dum, he’s gonna go see this movie that is STUPID.” (Have I mentioned how stupid I thought it looked?) Well, later on down the metaphorical road, I saw that Scott Pilgrim vs. The World was playing on some movie channel. It’s like my cable box knew I needed to experience the glory that is Scott Pilgrim. I finally gave in one day after I had finished all of my DVR’d episodes of Grey’s Anatomy (yeah yeah I know, I’m THAT girl, I DON’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT). Little did I know, I was about to have my mind COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY BLOWN. All of the perfectly timed quick cuts and the fast dialogue and the awesome actors and the GRAPHICS ugh the graphics and the music and ALL THE FEELS. It was just so…so…PERFECT! Needless to say, I was hooked from the moment Scott said, “Amazon.ca, what’s the website for that?”.

I took this experience to heart and immediately watched your other great creations, Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead. Being that they were created by you, I figured I would love these just as much as Scott Pilgrim vs The World and guess what? I WAS RIGHT. As soon as I started Hot Fuzz, I immediately recognized the well executed quick cuts and the witty British banter. It was just as good as I expected it to be. I moved on to Shaun of the Dead shortly after and enjoyed it as much as I could being a person that isn’t a huge fan of zombies. I mean they eat body parts and are always covered in blood and gut remnants (Um, ew) and they still manage to run people down, like what the hell that’s terrifying. The fact that you made me like a zombie movie is a feat in itself, truly. This letter of love isn’t meant to be creepy by any means, I’m not trying to stalk you geez, I just appreciate your work as much as any other crazed movie lover.

I read the entire Scott Pilgrim graphic novel series following my (umpteenth) viewing of the movie and felt you stayed as close to the books as possible which isn’t something that happens a lot. The thing is, you give the fans what they want whilst also being a self-proclaimed film buff and seemingly all around cool dude, which is a rad combination and makes it that much more exciting to be a big fan of your work. I am beside myself with excitement for The World’s End and cannot wait to see the familiar traits of an Edgar Wright film. Thanks for being a movie fan just like us nerds and always delivering a quality product for people around the world to enjoy. You rock EW! Can I call you EW? I think we’re at that place.

Forever in lesbians with you,

Fraisia W. Logan

@fRaisin

image

Check out the trailer for The World’s End and head out to see the final installment of the Cornetto Trilogy today!

Leave a Reply

