An Open Letter to…So You Think You Can Dance

The So You Think You Can Dance Season 10 finale was Tuesday night revealing America’s two favorite dancers to be Amy and Fik-Shun! To congratulate the winners, I’ve written an open letter to my favorite reality competition show of all time!

Eliana Girard, Female winner of Season 9

Dear So You Think You Can Dance,

I don’t watch a lot of reality TV, but oh do I watch the hell out of you SYTYCD. I’ve been watching you since the season two finale in 2006, where Travis and Benji performed what is still, in my opinion, the best boy duet I’ve ever seen on the show. I’m embarrassed to admit that I didn’t even know this show existed prior to my first viewing of it. I remember thinking, “Man, wouldn’t it be great if there was a show just like American Idol but for dancing?” and then I turned on the TV and somehow (FINALLY) stumbled upon you. It was fate, I know it. I’ve been a dancer for most of my life (I AM NOT the next Fred Astaire though guys so, let’s relax) and this show has inspired me to not only not suck at dancing but also to pursue my ~*~*dReAmS*~*~. (You also had Anna Kendrick as a judge and we all know how I feel about her.) Calm down, I’m not getting all sappy here. Gross. Look, all I’m trying to say is that you’re awesome and I love you and please be renewed for a million more seasons. I NEED YOU SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE, I FREAKING NEED YOU IN MY LIFE I HATE AMERICAN IDOL PLEASE.

I have quite a few favorite routines OBVIOUSLY, but I think my all time favorite will always be “Addiction” by Mia Michaels (haven’t seen it? Stop what you are doing RIGHT NOW and look it up on YouTube, watch it, and then cry one thousand tears at the beauty that is this dance) (Oh yeah, and then come back and finish reading this open letter, duhz). I’ve seen the dance re-performed a few times but nothing compares to the original performance by Kayla and Kupono from season five. There’s something so scary and cynical about Kupono’s facial expression he has throughout the entire dance. He doesn’t drop it for a second and that sells the whole story from start to finish. Kayla’s body language perfectly matches her emotion as well, completely and utterly breaking your heart as you watch her succumb to the “Addiction”, played by Kupono. It’s seriously to this day one of the best dances I’ve ever seen on the show and I even sometimes re-watch it on YouTube for reminiscing purposes (and cuz it was THAT GOOD, SERIOUSLY).

Even though I love you SYTYCD and you essentially can do no wrong, I have a bit of a bone to pick with you. You continue to allow choreographers to use the most distracting props on the planet. Listen up, you are not Whose Line Is It Anyway?, you’re a different sentence-as-title reality show so lay off the dang props!  I honestly don’t think I’ve ever seen contestants make as many mistakes as they made this past season due to faulty props and sloppy stage blocking. IT IS RIDICULOUS. Please just put an end to it now. Like the dance with the bungee straps that suspended contestant Jenna from the ceiling for the entirety of the dance (“Hanging by a Thread” by Travis Wall performed by Jenna and Tucker Season 10, look it up). Those straps were very clearly faulty and INCREDIBLY distracting! I understand the concept and it was wonderful in theory, but it was not executed well and it made it very difficult for me to focus on the actual performance seeing as I was anticipating the problems that were bound to occur (and did) with those stupid straps. I get it, I’m an artist too and artists have visions, but do us all a favor and steer the choreographers away from dumb props. PLEASE??? (Disclaimer: I’m OBSESSED with Travis Wall and basically think he walks on water so please don’t hate me because I think props are dumb. Love you forever Trav!)

I am BEYOND happy you got renewed for season eleven (especially since even Nigel didn’t know if you would be) because I’m truly just not prepared to live in a world without you, So You Think You Can Dance. At least try to outlive American Idol, okay?

Future Season 12 Winner,

Fraisia W. Logan

@fRaisin

Jeanine Mason & Jason Glover, Season 5, If it Kills Me Choreographed by Travis Wall

Leave a Reply

