An Open Letter to…Sandra Bullock

The extremely anticipated Alfonso Cuarón directed feature Gravity FINALLY hits theaters today! As a little reward for waiting so long for this film to come out, I’ve written an open letter to my personal favorite oscar-winning Miss Congeniality, Sandra Bullock!

Dear Sandy,

You have been one of my biggest inspirations and idols since I was put on this earth. I feel like I’ve been watching your work for most of my life. I’m borderline obsessed with you but in the least creepiest way possible so, don’t freak out or anything. While I have seen a good chunk of your film catalog, I distinctly remember seeing you for the first time in Hope Floats (if you haven’t seen Hope Floats, WATCH IT IMMEDIATELY and then cry forever). My parents have been together for 30 years so I honestly have no reasonable explanation as to why I feel like I relate to Bernice, your movie daughter, in this film other than that she’s adorable and I can only assume that I too was once adorable in my life. Maybe I actually relate to your character Birdee because my mother also knows exactly how to drive me mildly insane (don’t even TRY to act like your mom doesn’t do the same thing) (LOVE YOU MOM). There’s something so heartbreaking about Hope Floats but also so heartwarming, I just can’t help but love it (and mainly YOU).

Anyway, it would be essentially IMPOSSIBLE for me to name my favorite Sandy film. Of the ones I’ve seen, I think Miss Congeniality is my favorite. However, The Proposal is pretty equal to Miss Congeniality not only because it’s you and it’s hilarious and also beautiful queen Betty White is involved BUT, my future husband Ryan Reynolds (yeah, I’m aware he’s currently married to that gorgeous minx Blake Lively but let’s focus on the word CURRENTLY…that shiz is def not gonna last, come on) stars in it with you. UM WHAT. You AND Ryan?! IT’S THE PERFECT COMBINATION OF MY FAVORITE (ACTOR) PEOPLE ON THIS EARTH. Like seriously, the only thing that could top that would be a movie with you, Ryan, Anna Kendrick, Tina Fey, Jon Hamm, Amy Poehler, and me obvs (If someone would like to make that movie SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY IMMEDIATELY). I think it’s safe to say that close to everyone loves Miss Congeniality and if you don’t then you probably don’t have a soul and are therefore most likely a vampire. Just kidding guys duhz, I don’t judge peeps based on whether they like a movie I love or not, I’m not evil (well, mostly not evil…). All I’m trying to say is that Miss Congeniality is probably the least girly movie about beauty pageants there is so I think it can translate really to anyone. And it’s hilarious and has Sandy Bullock so it’s gotta be good AMIRIGHT??

I can’t have a proper open letter without mentioning your other phenomenal films. Okay, maybe they’re not like MIND BLOWING AMAZING CINEMATIC GENIUS but, I can honestly say I have yet to encounter a Sandy flick that I didn’t at least enjoy. With that said, here are my other favorite Sandy films: Speed, Practical Magic, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Two Weeks Notice, The Blind Side, and The Heat. I have to confess that I haven’t exactly seen ALL of the movies you’ve been in but, I’m working on it k? I didn’t include ones I’ve seen that I didn’t particularly love like The Lake House for example, but that’s obviously not your fault because you can essentially do no wrong. I do think though that I’ve seen a enough of your repertoire to allow me the liberty to fangirl about you all over the interwebz.

You’ve got some serious talent if you can get me to go see a movie that takes place entirely in the middle of space because, fun fact, I have an irrational fear of outerspace. I mean, it goes on forever and ever AND EVER, HOW IS THAT NOT TERRIFYING??? If it wasn’t for you (and also the Cloons, yowza), I would DEFINITELY not be subjecting myself to the terror panic I will most likely be consumed with but, I will push through for you Sandy! Anything for mah girl.

Keep being the strong, independent, kick-a$$, beautiful, funny, inspiring, original diva hot mama I know and love and I will continue to attempt to follow in your fierce, stilettoed footsteps.

Original diva in training,

Fraisia W. Logan

@fRaisin

One response to “An Open Letter to…Sandra Bullock

  1. Pingback: He Said/She Said Movie Review: ‘Gravity’ |·

Leave a Reply

